Collge of Design, Construction & Planning
Architecture Building

2012 DCP Alumni Awards

January 17, 2013

The year 2012 proved to be successful for DCP graduates and supporters. Read below to check out examples of award-winning projects over the past year.

DCP alumni and friends can submit their awards to the alumni newsletter, Perspective, by emailing

View the award gallery

  • The project titled “East Village Apartments” by Kyle Abney, ARC 1999 and BCN 2001, was awarded Outstanding LEED for Homes – Multi-family by the South Florida Chapter of the U.S. Green Building Council.
  • The South Florida Chapter of USGBC awarded Michelle Balfoort, MArch 1994, and Todd Balfoort, BDes 1992 and MBC 1993, of Balfoort Companies I Architecture + Construction, the 2012 Outstanding LEED for Homes – Single Family for the project Hillcrest Residence in Stuart, FL.
  • DeVane Batchelor, BCN 1989, president of Allen+Batchelor Construction, was recognized with the 2011 Community Pride Design Award for a project titled “Pediatric Partners of Augusta.” The award was given in recognition of outstanding contribution to Columbia County’s livability, economic vitality and overall quality of life.
  • David Berton, BArch 1987 and MArch 1989, of RealArchitecture received the Denver 2011 Mayor’s Design Award for the category “Home Is Where the Heart Is.”
  • James Blythe, BDes 2002 and MArch 2004, of Content Design Group served as the project architect & designer for the Piedmont College – Arrendale Amphitheater. The amphitheater was honored by the 2010 Metal Architecture Design Awards for its top award in the category of Metal Roofing. In 2010 the project was awarded a Metal Construction Association (MCA) 2010 President’s Award – Honorable Mention, Unique Application. Also, the project was voted best music venue in Northeast Georgia in 2011.
  • Jay Brady, MAURP 1981, was recently recognized in the Florida Press Association 2011 Better Weekly Newspaper Contest placing second in the “Investigative Reporting” category for a story in Lee County’s road impact fees. Also, Brady shared a first place award with publisher/editor Matt Walsh and reporter Jean Gruss in the “In-Depth Reporting” category for “Why Collier County said ‘No’ to Jackson Lab.” Additionally, Brady has recently accepted a position as Operation Services Administrator for The Meadows Community Association.
  • Jose Cardenas, IND 2002, and John Perez, IND 1999, of Hota Design Studio were recently awarded first place in the ASID 2012 North Florida’s Design Competition. Hota Design Studio got first in the corporate category for the interior design of the Law Offices of Farah & Farah located in Jacksonville, FL.
  • Cheri Ehrhardt-Topper, MAURP 1992, Natural Resource Planner for the US Fish and Wildlife Service, was recognized by US Department of Interior Secretary Ken Salazar for conservation achievements attained through collaboration and partnerships.
  • Susan Elftman, MArch 1994, of SEArchitecture was recently awarded LEED Platinum for “EcoOaks Apartments.” The project received the first multi-family new construction Platinum certification in Florida. Elftman also received an Oustanding Contribution to the Community award for Sustainability and Affordable Housing at the 30th annual Hillsborough County Planning Commission awards.
  • Jennifer Haney, IND 2007, of HLW International recently completed the design of JetBlue’s corporate headquarters in Long Island City. JetBlue was on the cover of the May 2012 Issue of Interior Design and recently won an AIA award for Interiors.
  • The Tampa Bay Chapter of the American Institute of Architects has recognized Lakeland-based Straughn Trout Architects, LLC as the 2012 Firm of the Year. Straughn Trout Architects and Tim Hoeft, were recognized for their consistent leadership, vision and ability, advancing the profession through community services and support of the AIA.
  • Jeffrey A. Huberman, ARC 1964, of Gantt Huberman Architects in Charlotte, N.C., received a 2012 AIA Honor Award for the UNC Charlotte Center City Building.
  • With the help of Mike Kroll, LAE 1986, Miller Legg received an award of honor from the Florida Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects in the category of Preservation and Conservation for Outstanding Design of the City of Plantation’s Plantation Preserve & Golf Club. Miller Legg was the only award recipient in the Category of Preservation and Conservation.
  • The Miami Chapter of the American Institute of Architects named Mateu Architecture, Inc., the 2012 Firm of the Year. The award recognizes the architectural firm who has displayed outstanding achievement in design, community service, education, service to the profession and the AIA, over a period of no less than 10 years, and under the substantial direction of principal, Roney Mateu.
  • Michael Morette, BCN 2003, and President of Morette Company recently received the 2013 BuildSouth Award from AGC. David DelGallo, BCN 1976, was also the Chief Estimator on the project.Morette Company received the award for excellence in Construction Management in New Construction.
  • SEArchitecture was honored by the Florida Gulf Coast Chapter of the U.S. Green Building Council with an Outstanding Project of the Year award under the LEED for Homes category, for the EcoOaks Apartments in Tampa, FL.
  • McCarthy/Brooks + Scarpa /HMC Architects have released their proposal for the Design Excellence/design-build competition for the new United States courthouse in Los Angeles. The contractor lead design/build team was selected to compete through the General Services Administration two-stage Design Excellence Program. Over the past 10 years, Brooks+Scarpa, led by Larry Scarpa, has won 18 national AIA awards, including the 2010 Architecture Firm Award and four AIA COTE Top Ten Green Building Awards.
  • Brad Tomecek, MArch 1997, and Christopher Herr, MArch 1999, helped Studio H:T earn the recognition of Firm of the Year by the AIA Colorado North Chapter as well as three AIA citation awards from the Denver Chapter for projects “Studio 2b”, “Plains Residence” and “Volume and Light Residence.”
  • Studio H:T Architecture principal’s Brad Tomecek, MArch 1997, and Christopher Herr, MArch 1999, received the 2012 Denver Mayor’s Design Award for the project titled “Shield House.” The project was in the category “I Wanna Live Here,” as a contribution to imaginative design in Denver neighborhoods.